Titwood Bowling Club
A Short History of our Club
Titwood Bowling Club was opened for play on 28th May 1890 with a subsequent ceremony on 30th August 1890. The affairs of Pollokshields West were administered in the Burgh Hall in Maxwell Park, gifted in 1890 by Sir John Maxwell who had also given patronage to the Bowling Club. The original office bearers included Sir John as Honorary President and Provost John Murray, West Pollokshields, as Honorary Vice President. The clubhouse was designed by Messrs. Clark and Bell, Architects, and originally there were two greens. A third green was opened in 1898 resulting in the Club having the unique distinction of being the only Scottish Club with three full sized greens capable of playing 18 rinks. For many years, 18 rinks were filled in an annual match with Glasgow Corporation Bowling Club, with one hundred and forty four players taking part.
Titwood Bowling Club has provided many fine bowlers and administrators including two Scottish Bowling Association Presidents, A.R. Brown (1913) and Graham Pearson (1988), the latter holding this honour with the further honour that year of being made Honorary President of the Club. In 1990 the Club celebrated its centenary and the late Harry McLean was elected as the Club's Centenary President. He also became Honorary Vice President in 1995, an honour which subsequently was given to Ian Boyd in 2001. At the 2012 A.G.M., Ian Boyd became Honorary President of the Club succeeding the late Graham Pearson.
Over the years the Club has enjoyed many successes. These have involved International Honours and many Glasgow, Renfrewshire and Scottish Bowling Association Honours. Present day members who have enjoyed County Representation are Ian Boyd, Andrew McLean, Robert Moles, John Boyd and Anna Casci.